About Us

Location

Consulate-General of Japan in Hong Kong
46-47/F, One Exchange Square, 8 Connaught Place, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 2522-1184
Fax: (852) 2868-0156

 

Office Hours

Consular Affairs (46/F)   Monday to Friday 9:15-12:00  13:30-16:45
Visa Section (46/F)  

Monday to Friday Submission 9:15-11:15  Collection 13:30-16:45

(For diplomatic/official matters and humanitarian assistance only)

   

The Consulate is closed on Saturdays, Sundays and the following holidays.

 

【IMPORTANT NOTICE】

     From December 9th 2016, the Consulate-General of Japan no longer accepts general visa applications directly. Please submit your applications to the Japan Visa Application Centre.

 

Consular Affairs・Visa Section

Located on the 46th floor of One Exchange Square.
Consular Affairs: Opening hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:15-12:00, 13:30-16:45 (closed on Sat., Sun. & public holidays.)

Visa Section:Opening hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:15-11:15(Acceptance), 13:30-16:45(Collection) (closed on Sat., Sun. & public holidays.)


Tel: (852) 2522-1184
Fax: (852) 2536-0881
 

Public Relations & Cultural Affairs Division

Our mission is to promote a better understanding of Japan and Japanese culture in Hong Kong, and to enhance academic and cultural relations between Japan and Hong Kong.

 

The following is the outline of services we provide:

- general information and reference services on Japan
- coordination of exchange programmes and scholarships
- hosting/sponsoring of various cultural events and activities

 

Please contact us for further information.

Located on the 47th floor of One Exchange Square.
Tel: (852) 2522-1184
Fax: (852) 2845-5360

 

Holiday schedule of the Consulate

Holidays for 2019 Holidays for 2020
1 Jan (Tue) The first day of January* 1 Jan (Wed) New Year's Day *
5 Feb (Tue) Lunar New Year’s Day* 27 Jan (Mon) The third day of Lunar New Year *
6 Feb (Wed) The second day of Lunar New Year* 28 Jan (Tue) The fourth day of Lunar New Year *
7 Feb (Thu)  The third day of Lunar New Year* 24 Feb (Mon) The day following
The Emperor's  Birthday
5 Apr (Fri) Ching Ming Festival * 20 Mar (Fri) Vernal Equinox Day
19 Apr (Fri) Good Friday* 10 Apr (Fri) Good Friday *
22 Apr (Mon) Easter Monday * 13 Apr (Mon) Easter Monday *
1 May (Wed) Labour Day * 30 Apr (Thu) Buddha's Birthday *
2 May (Thu) In lieu of Emperor’s enthronement Day on 1 May 1 May (Fri) Labour Day *
13 May (Mon)  The day following the Birthday of the Buddha * 25 Jun (Thu) Tuen Ng Festival *
7 Jun (Fri)  Tuen Ng Festival * 1 Jul (Wed) Hong Kong SAR Establishment Day *
1 Jul (Mon) Hong Kong SAR Establishment Day * 24 Jul (Fri) Sports Day
15 Jul (Mon) Marine day 21 Sep (Mon) Respect for the Aged Day
16 Sep (Mon) Respect for the Aged Day 1 Oct (Thu) National Day *
1 Oct (Tue) National Day * 2 Oct (Fri) The day following
the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival *
7 Oct (Mon) Chung Yeung Festival * 26 Oct (Mon) The Day following Chung Yeung Festival *
22 Oct (Tue) Ceremonies for the Enthronement
of His Imperial Highness the Crown Prince
23 Nov (Mon) Labour Thanksgiving Day
25 Dec (Wed) Christmas Day * 25 Dec (Fri) Christmas Day *
26 Dec (Thu) The first weekday
after Christmas Day *
29 Dec (Tue) End of Year's Holiday
30 Dec (Mon) End of Year’s Holiday 30 Dec (Wed) End of Year's Holiday
31 Dec (Tue) End of Year’s Holiday 31 Dec (Thu) End of Year's Holiday

Weekly day off (Saturday & Sunday) (*Hong Kong’s Holiday)
 

 

Office Hours during Typhoons and Rainstorms

Typhoon Signal No. 8

  1. If the Typhoon Signal No. 8 is hoisted before office hours (i.e. before 9. a.m.), the Consulate-General of Japan will remain temporarily closed. If the Signal No. 8 is lowered before 1.00 p.m., the Consulate will open two hours later. However, if the signal is lowered at any time between 10.00 a.m. and 11.30 midday, the Consulate will open at 1.30 p.m. If the signal is lowered after 1.00 p.m., the Consulate will remain closed for the rest of the day.
  2. If the Typhoon Signal No. 8 is hoisted during office hours, the Consulate will close when the signal is hoisted. Point 1 shall apply for the following day.

Black Rainstorm Warning

  1. If the Black Rainstorm Warning is hoisted before 8.30 a.m., the Consulate-General of Japan will remain temporarily closed. If the warning is lowered before 1.00 p.m., the Consulate will open two hours later. However, if the Black Rainstorm Warning is lowered at any time between 10.00 a.m. and 11.30 midday, the Consulate will open at 1.30 p.m. If the warning is lowered after 1.00 p.m., the Consulate will remain closed for the rest of the day.
  2. If the Black Rainstorm Warning is hoisted after 8.30 a.m., the Consulate will remain open as usual